Join Today
Thanks Thanks:  8
Likes Likes:  15
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Northern Catskill Mountains, upstate New York

Chain oiler noob questions

I'm a complete noob when it comes to chain oilers. I bought one -- a gravity-fed Nemo unit -- but have not yet installed it. However, now I'm laying plans for a riding vacation in May, and the oiler would be very handy to have up and running for that.

Please, may I ask some very ignorant questions about chain oilers?

1. What kind/weight of oil is most suitable to use?

2. Do I have to completely clean my chain before deploying an oiler? Right now, I lubricate as needed with spray-on chain wax. Should I strip all that off first?

3. How much dripping should I expect when parked? For example, should I keep newspaper or something handy in my saddlebags, to whisk under the oiler nozzle once my kickstand is down?

4. Is it necessary to engage the oiler for every ride? Or can it be skipped for, say, a six-mile run to the gas station and back?

5. If I forget to engage the oiler, and I don't realize my goof until I've ridden 100+ miles, have I conceivably done damage to my chain?

See, I really am ignorant about this. Experienced advice would be sincerely appreciated.

Thanks!
    2014 Honda CTX700ND, "Flicker"
    ------------------------------------------------
    Former rides
    Cruisers: Victory Cross Roads, Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic, Suzuki Boulevard C50, Suzuki Marauder 800
    Scooters: Suzuki Burgman 650, Suzuki Burgman 400, Honda Elite 80

2. Thanks kujawskir thanked for this post
    Likes Glen e liked this post
    Hi woodswoman. I and a bunch of others have the tutoro. So that one has its own formula that is also gravity fed. I'm sure a similar chain oil would work fine, but in this I'll stick with their oem. It's cheap enough.