Chain oiler noob questions

Woodswoman

I'm a complete noob when it comes to chain oilers. I bought one -- a gravity-fed Nemo unit -- but have not yet installed it. However, now I'm laying plans for a riding vacation in May, and the oiler would be very handy to have up and running for that.

Please, may I ask some very ignorant questions about chain oilers?

1. What kind/weight of oil is most suitable to use?

2. Do I have to completely clean my chain before deploying an oiler? Right now, I lubricate as needed with spray-on chain wax. Should I strip all that off first?

3. How much dripping should I expect when parked? For example, should I keep newspaper or something handy in my saddlebags, to whisk under the oiler nozzle once my kickstand is down?

4. Is it necessary to engage the oiler for every ride? Or can it be skipped for, say, a six-mile run to the gas station and back?

5. If I forget to engage the oiler, and I don't realize my goof until I've ridden 100+ miles, have I conceivably done damage to my chain?

See, I really am ignorant about this. Experienced advice would be sincerely appreciated.

Thanks!

casper

Hi woodswoman. I and a bunch of others have the tutoro. So that one has its own formula that is also gravity fed. I'm sure a similar chain oil would work fine, but in this I'll stick with their oem. It's cheap enough.

No you don't HAVE to clean the chain before you start using the oiler. I would just to give it a good start. Just wipe it down with a cleaner and a brush, and you are good to go.

Mine has a auto valve, so there is no dripping. It works by road movement. Bouncing around opens it, stopping closes it. I'm not sure if the Nemo has this feature, or is always on or off. It would be silly for that while it sat for days if you left it on. That doesn't make sense to me. All you'd do is lose your oil. I'd guess a 10-30 or 40 would be fine. Nemo will tell you what to fill it with.